TWiT Live feed on "Live TV" on Plex

I’ve been enjoying TWiT since the mid 2000s, and Leo Laporte since 1998 on ZDTV and, later, TechTV.

I’d love to see TWiT’s live feed added to “Live TV” on Plex. Ideally, without geographic restrictions. I moved from the US to Western Europe, many years ago.

On Plex, I used to have the TWiT plugin, but Plex has discontinued plugins several years ago.

Is it possible to get TWiT’s live feed added to Plex?

2 Likes

A live feed is not a podcast. A podcast is a listing of already completed and packaged content, whereas the live feed is never packaged or finalized. Unless Plex has some non-podcast (i.e. non-subscription) way to define content, it’s unlikely to be possible if Plex doesn’t support it already. You can watch the live feed on YouTube and TWITCH if either of those are available inside Plex.

But if you go to live.twit.tv, something is always streaming, correct?

I think what @imbibed is asking is if that stream could be put on Plex’s new Live TV service. I don’t quite get why they call it Live TV, it’s more reruns and random shows you’ve mostly never heard of packaged as stations, but it’s not on demand, it functions as Live TV. I guess the couple news stations are more or less live, but still.

I think that would be a good fit. I wonder how ads would be handled, since Live TV on Plex is supported by ads, as well as the ads supporting TWiT.

Actually Plex does have some broadcast channels that are not clipped but because they are small or not carried yet they may not have secured ad deals.

FWIW I like Plex’s lineup since it does not conform to traditional standards and as far as I can tell completely open and transparent worldwide. Adding TWiT to their channel lineup would be trivial and most likely relevant to their audience.

1 Like

“I think what @imbibed is asking is if that stream could be put on Plex’s new Live TV service.”

Yes!

Plex has a non-podcast way to define content. It’s called Live TV.