My Intro from Northern Maine

Greetings from the top of Maine!! I have been a lifelong self-taught techie. I grew up in Western NY, just south of Rochester. As a kid, my father worked for IBM and would give me older laptops and told me just to mess around with them. If I broke it I just had to let him know and he would get me another one. I always loved technology! However, I went in the direction of music and attended the University of Maine and received my degree in Instrumental Music Education with a trumpet concentration. I have been teaching in a small school in Northern Maine for about 15 years now.

In addition to teaching, I play in a number of local groups consisting or orchestras, wind ensembles, oldies/pop music, and a few other things. After a few years in the district, I started running our school website. It slowly turned in to helping our 2 tech guys over vacations. One of our tech guys retired and due to various other issues, I was asked to fill in for the other tech guy since he was out for a while. As I kept the department running with no problems I was asked soon after to take over the department as the Technology Director, in addition to my full-time teaching duties. Ten years later and I get the best of both worlds, teach band to students in grades 5-12 and I run all the school technology, keeps me busy for sure but I love it. I also teach a media production class that I really enjoy. Last year I built a recording studio for our students to learn and next year we will do more with video.

I am a competitive golfer and coach our golf and volleyball teams and have done so for many years. I consider myself a general knowledge techie as I need to deal with networking issues and routinely work with Macs, Windows, iOS, Linux, and Android. I love watching just about all of your shows. I don’t get a chance to talk with a lot of techies up here as we are quite remote so your shows give me a way to stay current.

Adam

3 Likes