HOP 37: Why Shoot Photography?

Beep boop - this is a robot. A new show has been posted to TWiT…

What are your thoughts about today’s show? We’d love to hear from you!

2 Likes

@ant_pruitt this is a great topic! I have always had an interest in creative arts. As a kid I tried writing short stories, comic books, poetry, then photography.

I didn’t buy a DSLR until I got married and sold my motorcycle lol. We got family photos and I was less than impressed and figured I could do better. I used the money I received to buy a Canon 60d. I figured it was a hobby I could with the family. Then I joined a photography forum and told the members I was a beginner and asked for critique on a photo. I received a lot of negative feedback without any context. Although I was upset I explained to them again that I was a beginner and to chill. I later joined Google+ and there I felt like the critism was more constructive. In the end I kept going and am continuing to improve.

Here is the photo that I posted. It’s not the most amazing picture in the world but it’s not the worst picture of all time.

4 Likes

This right here. This is why I started a smartphone photographers community on G+ back in the days. This is why i said the second I have a chance to help someone create a cool photo or make their photos look better to them, I’ll do it. This is why when I shared my vision of HOP with the Laportes, I told them, “I don’t want to do a show for pros. Pros were jack a**es to me when I was trying to learn.” I’m glad you were able to continue to enjoy your hobby and time with the camera. THANKS for this comment and for being a supporter of HOP. Means a lot :fist_right:t5::tumbler_glass:

3 Likes

And I LOVE this picture. Hits me right in my chest as I think about my first born #hardhead is now a senior in high school and I remember him learning what a “prodcesser” looks like inside of a computer case.

3 Likes