Thanks for subscribing to Hands-On Photography

Ok so I am back home from TWiT eastside studios. I wanted to give a lil’ info about Hands-On Photography (HOP).

First off, THANK YOU ALL for the support of me and the TWiT network over the years.

Secondly, I want HOP to be a place where beginners and enthusiasts can go learn about photography. Quite frankly, I think the photography community is full of jerks. Absolute jerks. I don’t want to be that person. I want to help brand new folks feel comfortable with taking their first shots. I want the more seasoned enthusiasts to be able to help those new folks as well as share experiences with others in the community without any getting backlash of “photography snobbery.” I’m not doing this for the “pros.” Period.

When I started shooting, I didn’t go to photography school or anything like that. I learned from trial and error. Lots of error. And more so with a SMARTPHONE. I had a point and shoot, but the smartphone was always with me.

I learned from errors over the years and I’m still learning. I learned a little from reading photography sites. I learned a little from watching YouTube. I also had the privilege to learn from folks in the smartphone photographer’s community I used to host on Google+. Of all of those areas I had the opportunity to learn, the community I hosted on G+ was the best because NO ONE was allowed to belittle or go into a Sony vs Canon vs Nikon wars on my watch. All of that is crap when it comes to someone trying to learn how to shoot. Fortunately, the community as a whole was about the learning.