$200-ish Camera for home office video updates

Can someone recommend a decent video (easy) video camera I can use in my home office for weekly team updates? In a remote covid world for the next few months, I was thinking about increasing my communications and creating weekly team updates. I know I can use my iPhone or Logitec webcam, but I hear very good things about external dedicated video cameras. Any recommendations in the $200 range. Simple and easy to use is also important since I am not an A/V guy.

1 Like

I presume you mean a point and shoot camera. I think $200 is not enough to bother with one over a web cam, but I am not an expert. Maybe check out PC Mag’s opinion: The Best Point-and-Shoot Cameras for 2023 | PCMag

For that budget I think maybe you want to investigate the Logitech BRIO Webcam with 4K Ultra HD Video & HDR .

Maybe this can help: https://www.bhphotovideo.com/explora/video/buying-guide/8-recommended-camcorders-and-cameras-vlogging

1 Like

Unless you are doing podcasting, a straight webcam is fine.
I’m using my Canon DSLR as a webcam, but only because I already had it.

1 Like

Just use a webcam. You’re doing meetings and your video doesn’t have to be stellar for a weekly meeting. If you don’t have an integrated webcam, I echo the suggestions from @PHolder.

4 Likes

There’s not a camera that would output to HDMI at that cost. I’d suggest Alex’s favourite webcam the Logitech Brio. It has really nice picture and a max resolution of 4K.

As someone who has done a ton of working from home this year, with multiple daily video calls for work; I echo what others have advised here in just using your existing webcam. You are probably better off investing in some cheap light panel/s to ensure your webcam doesn’t have to work as hard to get the correct exposure.