Microphone for video conferencing

i just bought a Logitech c920 for video conferencing. but now i am thinking about audio.
i mostly do video conferring, telephone calls on my computer and sometimes teamspeak.
is the integrated mic of the Logitech good enough, should i use a headset? i took a look the the blue snowball, but this mic is way to big to carry it in the notebook backpack. any thoughts?

I’ll preface my remarks with the warning that I’m no expert.

Regarding the mic on the Logitech camera, you should set up a test call with someone who can give you feed back on what you sound like, to know whether it’s going to be acceptable or not.

I’ve done a lot of conference calls / videoconferences, and in business circles the headset with boom microphone is pretty common for this.

My own preference has been for a Plantronics headset with two earpieces (they refer to that as “binaural” to distinguish from the one-earpiece units for support desk use), completely utilitarian but easy to obtain and easy to pack. I prefer a wired headset as Bluetooth can sometimes introduce a time delay or connection problems, and you don’t have time for that in a business environment.

Most of the mics touted for podcasting on sites like Amazon, including the Blue range, are condenser mics. What I’ve heard is that this type can produce good sound, but will tend to pick up unwanted sounds from some distance away, and may emphasise room reverberation and sound “echoey” unless a room has lots of soft furnishings. I don’t have any experience with that, but I do notice that although TWiT uses a very high quality condenser mic as their standard (Heil PR-40 I think?) there are lots of sound-absorbing drapes in the studio corners, and I’m guessing the sound goes through a very sophisticated system that can compensate for sound oddities in guest connections from outside.