Secure email. Protonmail and cryptext email service

Hey everyone. Wasn’t sure exactly the best spot to post this but I have been using ProtonMail for a couple years and seen a new email called cryptext and just wondering what everyone thought as it said to be open source but not using normal email protocols like protonmail and the like, comments and input would be great and also I’m pretty sure Leo hasn’t mentioned this service before,
Thanks

New to me but I’ll check it out. I’ve been using Tutanota for encrypted email and it works well.

I have to say that the notion of secure email might me an oxymoron no matter what you do. Email is inherently insecure. If you really want secure messaging use Signal. Use email for the stuff that doesn’t matter.

I think this article sums it up well.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply Leo, I use protonmail and have two separate accounts with them (one for personal and one for Apple ID and then a Gmail for google services & everything else) I just seen a bit of buzz about the new service cryptext and looked interesting and I would love to use helm instead of any of those but they do not ship to Canada yet

signal I think is great when I had android devices including the pixel, since using iPhone later on iMessage seems to work for me so far and with all those apple benefits of the iOS and iMessage

Keep up the great work TWiT, Later

P.s. i love the YubiKeys and have everything with 2fa on and YubiKey 5ci is perfect

While this doesn’t help the home user, here’s some business stuff.
A lot of companies offer secure mail, where the email is sent as an encrypted attachment that requires the user to “sign in” to read and reply.