Homemade disinfectant wipes

Heard you are having trouble finding wipes. Here is an easy way to make some. Buy baby wipes and 70% rubbing alcohol combine and voila. Disclaimer I am not a Doctor but you can find plenty of documentation about alcohol killing viruses.
Better than nothing

Alcohol has been unobtainable for over a month in southern New England. However disinfecting wipes don’t use alcohol they use bleach (that’s why the big commercial brand is Clorox). Here’s a good article with instructions for making your own wipes.

If I can ever get pure alcohol I’d like to try to make some hand sanitizer.

2 Likes

Actually, that is a misnomer. Clorox wipes DO NOT actually have bleach in them - despite the name “Clorox.”

For years, I thought they did, but they don’t. I discovered this last year…

5 Likes

I had an old pack of disinfectant wipes that I found in my cabinet at work, but they had dried out. I used 70% alcohol and repurposed them so I could use them

I’ve been able to track down wipes (Clorox and alcohol 70% wipes) and 70% alcohol online - by checking a few websites a couple of times a day - 2x a day. Also got anti-bacterial soap and peroxide, but ya gotta put in effort to get them. I’ve been getting all sorts of stuff delivered every week.

I just spray Lysol on a paper towel.

2 Likes

Me too :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

:+1:
Wipes are a very convenient and no doubt highly profitable for Lysol and Clorox. And more expensive than disinfecting sprays + paper towels or rags.

2 Likes

Warning, spraying Lysol on a paper towel does not kill many bacteria and viruses. The surface needs to get wet and stay wet for a period of time specified in the product directions. Read the directions on your particular Lysol formula for details.

Here’s typical directions from Lysol:

Pre-clean surfaces prior to use. Hold can upright 6"" to 8"" from surface. Spray 3 to 4 seconds until covered with mist.

To Disinfect: