Hello TWiT Army... from Canada

Hello folks,

My name is Dennis, and I am a long time listener (and chat room lurker) and first time poster. I have been following Leo since the good ol’ “Screen Savers” days with Patrick Norton, and back when Kevin and Sarah were dating and being lightly teased for it if I remember right! :slight_smile: Then I followed Leo and his antics up here in Canada on “Call For Help” with Amber MacArthur and “The Lab with Leo Laporte”. Finally I have been loyal listener of the TWiT Netcast Network since the early days at the cottage. And Leo is right… Netcast is more ‘correct’ than Podcast!

I became an Electronics Technologist mainly because of the influence of my father and Billy Mumy… boy genius of “Lost in Space”, and a computer engineer because of the Commodore PET and VIC20 computers, along with the instruction of a little known TVO show called “Bits and Bytes” with Billy Van and Luba Goy. You can still find those classic episodes on Youtube. I work as a Senior Data Center Network and Security Architect these days. I am also a lifelong photographer and audiophile of over 40 years.

Well enough with all that… I am more than pleased to finally crawl out of my shell and join you all on this fantastic forum/community. Cheers Everyone!

D.

8 Likes

Welcome Dennis, I’m from Adelaide in Australia :slight_smile:

Thanks so much Pommster and pleased to meet you!

D.

Yes, I remember seeing at least the first episode when I was a kid. “Bits and bytes of information… turning darkness to light…”

Luba Goy went on to fame with Air Farce, but I donno whatever became of Billy Van.

A very warm welcome from a cold, but sunny North Germany!

I really like Bill Mumy in Babylon 5, we never really got Lost in Space in the UK, when I was growing up.