FLOSS 583: California Consumer Privacy Act Tools

Beep boop - this is a robot. A new show has been posted to TWiT…

What are your thoughts about today’s show? We’d love to hear from you!

2 Likes

I was rather confused because I thought I was listening to the OSI episode, so it took me a while to figure out why you kept talking about what I assumed was a tangent, but I found it interesting to hear about what’s going on over there.

However, I did have to engage my “Americans talking about GDPR without understanding it” restrained brain, because there seems to be this pervasive idea that GDPR requires cookie notices that are pointless because you basically have to accept, probably because as I understand it that’s all people outside the EU tend to be shown. (At this point I feel I should say I’m not a lawyer, so may get some of this wrong.) That was older regulation, and was pretty stupid. What GDPR requires is a lawful basis for processing personally identifiable information, one of which is consent, and so with GDPR you get popups asking you to consent to the use of cookies, and crucially, you can opt out of non-essential cookies and still use the service. You can’t refuse access to a service because someone doesn’t consent to the use of their PII when there is no other lawful basis for processing it - see https://ico.org.uk/for-organisations/guide-to-data-protection/guide-to-the-general-data-protection-regulation-gdpr/consent/what-is-valid-consent/

Consent means giving people genuine choice and control over how you use their data. If the individual has no real choice, consent is not freely given and it will be invalid.

This means people must be able to refuse consent without detriment, and must be able to withdraw consent easily at any time. It also means consent should be unbundled from other terms and conditions (including giving separate granular consent options for different types of processing) wherever possible.

And the example: