Adobe Lightroom alternative?

Hi,

I’ve recently switched from Adobe Photoshop to Affinity Photo for photo editing, but haven’t yet found a suitable alternative to Adobe Lightroom for photo organization, keyword tagging, and such. I’d like to avoid Adobe’s subscription model if possible. Do you have any recommendations for macOS and iOS that might help?

Thanks.

4 Likes

Sadly, I have yet to find anything close enough. I love being able to organize, flag, rate, tag, edit, color-code, etc…all in one program. I refuse to go the subscription model and am using Lightroom 6 stand-alone still.

1 Like

Can’t vouch for iOS, but for Windows, Mac, and Linux, I’ve been testing RawTherapee. I have no experience with Lightroom personally, so I can’t attest to how it compares. However, once you learn how to use it, I’ve found it a very powerful program for managing RAW files.

Another I’ve heard of but haven’t tested myself yet is DarkTable. Going to be trying that one next. I’m with you, I refuse to get into the subscription model for a hobby.

1 Like

I like Skylum Luminar [https://skylum.com/luminar]. It has an easy to use interface and some pretty powerful edits can be done easily. It’s not iOS, but it does have Windows and macOS (I use the Windows version). Trey Ratcliff has some posts about it on his Stuck in Customs site [https://stuckincustoms.com/category/photo-software/skylum/luminar/]

4 Likes

But it STILL doesn’t have the DAM to manage organization like Lightroom, though they have promised as much for a few years now. I like Luminar, and use it, but not for DAM.

1 Like

Try darktable, its an open source light room like program and they say it works on mac os, Ive used it on linux and seems pretty good. I have used light room but not enough to figure it all out but dark table looked almost like it.
Maybe @ant_pruitt can take a look at it and give a nice review of it.
darktable.org and did I say it is FREE and open source :slight_smile:

2 Likes