TWIG 716: It's Pronounced Papyri

Beep boop - this is a robot. A new show has been posted to TWiT…

What are your thoughts about today’s show? We’d love to hear from you!

How I extrapolate cacio e pepe is made, based on knowing the ingredients and the name and nothing else:

1. Soak rotini noodles in room-temperature water until soft
  2. Grate cheddar cheese on top of the noodles
  3. Microwave for 2-3 minutes
  4. Sprinkle pepper and/or diced bell pepper on top
  5. Stir

Right? :grin:

I have nothing to add as I have no experience with it, but Wikipedia seems to imply that you may have cut a few corners in your “fast and easy at home” (aka, student cooking :wink: ) approach :smiley:

2 Likes

Yes, this is why a recipe is helpful :laughing:

…No. That’s Ben “Sckoon…” :joy:

I am. Intrigued by the paying $100+ for broadband, what do you get for this??

1 Like

The US do seem to pay a lot for broadband and mobile plans. Our family there are always amazed I pay £10 for a mobile contract and £20 for broadband.

2 Likes

Yes, I’m “overpaying” for mobile at the moment (20€ a month for unlimited talk and SMS and 20GB data at full speed, slowed to 1mbps after that, or I pay for a boost, for the 3-4GB I actually use, I could drop to 9€ a month) and we just switched to fibre at home, I’ve currently got 300/100mbps and pay 30€ a month, going to gigabit would have been 100€, which just wasn’t worth the price difference (the price also includes voice flat rate for national calls to landlines and mobile and 5 landline numbers), given that, apart from the odd download, I just need stable streaming for video calls and 4K streaming.