Trying hard to buy Microsoft Office: "untangling" (from) the "tenant account"

TLDR Over the last 24 hours, I tried buying Office 365 Business Premium (O365BP). Sharing my story may serve both as a cautionary tale and therapeutic purposes. Maybe someone has an idea how I can “untangle” from / my “tenant account”? :crossed_fingers:

Feeling at home with Office
I’ve been using Microsoft Office since about 2000. Over 20 years, it has become my sweet, sweet productivity addiction. I kind of know how to use it. It just took me under five years to get used to and not hate the ribbon interface. I like the general robustness of nowadays document layouting engine. I am addicted to Office to a degree that I even stopped my pretty convinced six-plus-month Linux-exclusive experiment simply because I did not want to work with a system that does not run Office natively. I’ve had some flirts with the wonderful procrastination instrument that is LaTeX working on books and even presentations but especially the latter is like dipping a typewriter in paint and using it as a brush: it’s fun, but it’s also a bit of a mess, and it takes ages - fashionably nerdy, though! OpenOffice or LibreOffice are excellent for what they are, but I never really got into the groove with them.

Licensing situation
Since I’ve changed from working at a university to working freelance, I decided to clear up my licensing situation and spring for a O365BP subscription.

Woes

1. I tried to sign up my external email address (one I did not knowingly use with Microsoft before), “computer says: no” - the email address is linked to another account (does not say which) or guideline that prohibits selling me this particular version of Office (does not say why - just that “no”). Need to make a new account.