TNW 105: Rebble With a Cause

Beep boop - this is a robot. A new show has been posted to TWiT…

What are your thoughts about today’s show? We’d love to hear from you!

1 Like

As a Pebble user, I am actually glad that Rebble is helping us pebblers to enjoy our smartwatch.

And to know that there maybe a way to repair it from ifixit, it brings sparks joy.

1 Like

Ifixit rules. I’m pumped to get home and watch the teardown of the SL3.

Good episode I liked the commentary about how we sort of (as a nation) went straight to scrutiny about TikTok because of the path already laid by Facebook and Google. It’s a good point and a good thing in my opinion.

Is anybody surprised that TikTok is considered a security risk? I certainly am not.

Though as a veteran I can speak to our personal responsibility to not posting OPSEC on the freaking internet. I’m sure there will be PowerPoints and briefs on how not to do that, most certainly calling out TikTok specifically because of its ties with China.

That said, the military is packed with 18-22 year olds that are dumb and love social media.

1 Like

Pebble/Rebble user here. I listen to several TWIT network podcasts on my 2 hour daily commute and also spend a LOT of time in the Pebble subreddit and on the Pebble discord too. It was pretty strange to have those two worlds colliding this morning. haha
It is very cool how iFixit has jumped in and is helping source some of the needed parts to keep the Pebble watches running for as long as we can. The Pebble community is awesome and the watches seem to keep avoiding death. I wish another company would look at a Pebble and produce something with it’s benefits and stop trying to make another smartwatch will all the negatives that they keep trying to put in them. Long Battery life, physical buttons and transflective screen are some HUGE things that make the Pebble a fan favorite and are missing from most smart watches today.

2 Likes