Success of advertising campaigns on TWiT

@Leo, during your prerecords yesterday you mentioned that advertising revenue for TWiT has been down causing the cancellation of some shows. This got me wondering, other than advertisers renewing their campaigns, do you get any other metrics as to how well an advertising campaign is doing for an advertiser?
Obviously since the start of the pandemic, TWiT has attracted advertisers that might not have advertised on TWiT (or previously been accepted as advertisers on TWiT, obviously, I have no inside knowledge to the inner workings of TWiT on this matter), and it’s kinda got me wondering if some of the campaigns have been successful enough for the advertiser to continue their advertising.

Again, this is purely curiosity on my part. I know at the end of the day if an advertiser keeps spending dollars with TWiT, that’s all that matters for you, but I’m kinda wondering if there has been success with these campaigns to keep the dollars flowing.

4 Likes

I’ve always been curious about this myself. Not only for TWiT but for the advert industry in general. Without a view of the inner-workings, it seems like an industry full of snake oil.

That being said, there are several companies that I learned about thru TWiT adverts that I’ve been a return customer of for years. I feel like I’m pretty good about tuning out or otherwise avoiding advertising so the fact that TWiT has gotten through to me is pretty unique.

3 Likes

Yes, TWiT has certainly introduced me to several services I’ve used regularly over the years:

• Audible
  • Carbonite
  • GoTo Meeting (used it at a couple of employers, don’t use it any longer)
  • LastPass
  • a few others, I don’t remember.

I was a little surprised by some of the advertising choices in recent months (Manscape, for instance).