STT 16: Smart Tech at the Super Bowl

Beep boop - this is a robot. A new show has been posted to TWiT…

What are your thoughts about today’s show? We’d love to hear from you!

@matthewcassinelli - You asked in this episode if anyone had HomeBridge setup, and I’ve been running for maybe 5 years? It’s great. Whenever I have my friends comment on Apple being “a closed ecosystem” I think about the fact I have an opensouce hub running on linux that can connect any smart home device into HomeKit. I have even written plugins for it.

I’ve been slowly pushing my way towards getting everything HomeKit, but for some devices awesome.

I have two older SamsungTVs, and I have HomeBridge for those. That way I can include turning off the TV in my “Goodnight” scene.

I have two older Belkin WeMo switches. Supported through HomeBridge so I don’t need to buy an additional hub for it.

My older NetAtMo weather station has been running through HomeBridge forever.

I have old ConnectedByTCP bulbs. I wrote the plugin for this myself, it’s pretty simple JavaScript. The cloud service died years ago and the iOS app even stopped getting updates and working, but since there is a Hub device that controls the lights that operates on its own - I can make simple RESTful calls to the hub to control it. So these lights, rather than becoming dumb, continue to work equal well to my native HomeKit hue lights.