MBW 812: Short-Fingered Vulgarians

Beep boop - this is a robot. A new show has been posted to TWiT…

What are your thoughts about today’s show? We’d love to hear from you!

11:45 mark - Alex saying WebEx was a disaster and basically disparaging the product was a low mark. I work for Cisco (full disclosure) and support WebEx. Every SaaS platform can have a bad day. But to say “Zoom is way better than WebEx” and “WebEx is a Horrible platform” as a general statement without any background is very irresponsible and unqualified. Zoom is still 2-3 year behind WebEx in many areas. I really don’t like hearing “experts” making claims like this.

Paging Ms. Streisand. Paging Ms. Streisand.

Okay, I’m not an expert, and my experience with Cisco products is I would rather use a pair of tin cans and some string. Is that better?

3 Likes

Wow. That reply sounds as qualified as what Alex was saying. Just Cisco products in general? Seems legit.

You should know when to let it go. The more you interact around bad press, the more your bring it to people’s attention, and the more likely you are to hear from people who are not fans. It’s much more likely people who have had bad experiences will complain than it is that people who have had good experiences will drop in to be defenders.

So anyway, since you seemingly invited it, here’s my experience. Cisco routers had a hard coded back door, and at my location that was used to backdoor the network, install a RAT, and exfiltrate very important technical documentation to a foreign entity, who then used it to reverse engineer our product. Cisco was a major disaster for our company!

So there ya go, there’s your endorsement! Enjoy! For everyone else, stay well and truly away from Cisco products, save yourself some money on the exorbitant fees and last generation tech.