I am sad at math... So sad

So sad. I am a college graduate - but my 7th grade son came home with some geometry homework last night… And, there were 4 problems throughout the entire math, homework worksheet that he could not solve…

He asked me for help. I spent 30 minutes on it, and even looked up things on the Internet…

I could not help him. I just finished emailing the teacher this morning - to see if he could assist my son. I explained that I tried to help him, but could not…

:thinking::thinking::thinking:

4 Likes

what I find is when I help my kids (one in middle school one in high school) I can solve the problems, I remember them fairly well, but they have changed math! They have new ways to solve these things and they have to show their work. So even though I can get the right answer, the methods are different so they can’t use the old methods on the homework / tests.

3 Likes

Same ! I hear ya. Today’s new math is so alien to me and those of my generation (I’m 48). SO don’t feel bad about not knowing… they uped and changed methodologies on us.

I only had to take 2 math classes for my college degree. And, I had a hard time.

I graduated college with a 3.0. And, I read faster than anyone I know. But I have always sucked at math. Even on the ACT test that I took in 1989 or so, I got a high total score. I think I even got a 34 on reading (they got rid of that section and restructured the test the following year). But, I did bad on the math section.

I can add and subtract easily and quickly. I can even do algebra with 1 variable. Past that, I am stuck. And, too many chemistry, physics and geometry problems require you to memorize a formula. If I sat in my son’s class, I could probably do it.

But, he has no textbook. So, I have nothing to reference. Just having it dropped in my lap - I cannot do it.

1 Like