Any computer programmers in the house?

Hello everyone! I’m a senior software developer for a small firm in NY. I first learned how to program using BASIC on the C64. Since then I have learned VB6, C/C++, Java, C#, VB .NET, VBScript, HTML, JavaScript (jQuery), CSS, SQL, Assembly (x86 & 6502).

What languages / technologies does anyone else know?

2 Likes

Hello!! I work for an R1 University in New York. I first learned how to program BASIC on a Tandy 8088. Since then, VB, C, C++, Java, C#, PeopleCode, COBOL, PERL, T-SQL, PL/SQL, ECMAScript,… Working full-stack, so non-languages like CSS, HTML. Sysadmin work too, so VBScript, PowerShell, Shell Languages. I teach C++, C#, and other classes like Systems Administration and Database Management on the side.

1 Like

I used GW BASIC, Microsoft BASIC, Q BASIC, COBOL, C, C++ and some pascal…

I started with a Sinclair ZX81, BASIC and machine code (with only 1KB RAM to play with, machine code was more efficient).
I then moved onto a VIC=20, a Memotech MTX500 (as seen in Weird Science with Kelly LeBrock), BASIC and Z80 assembler. At school we had PETs and that was BASIC, CESIL and machine code (CESIL was a British school programming language, to teach programming fundamentals “Computer Education in Schools Introductory Language”).
I did some DEC DCL and Fortran working for an oil exploration company during the summer between school and college.
College was PETs again, then they introduced IBM PC clones and BASICA and in the second year, COBOL on a Prime Mini.

On my first day of college, we had to write a simple program to calculate the minimum number of coins to provide as change - to see how much we knew about programming. I had the task finished in about 10 minutes, so for the remaining hour, I punched in some machine code, split the screen into multiple windows, used an 8x8 character matrix in the top window to show the input amount and drew piles of coins in the bottom window. All that on an 80x25 text screen.