File Management

Hello Everyone - a bit shy here starting a new topic, so please be forgiving, or at least tell me I am doing this wrong if I shouldn’t do it here. I think y’all are fabulous and would love your input.

I am an avid organizer and would love to know everyone’s file management strategies. I manage my organization’s digital files (I am not IT, but I am a manager), and I strongly believe in the most efficient file management system for use by fellow employees. For some background information, I work in a municipal forestry program and I work with people who primarily work in the field and people who exclusively work in the office. We all use Windows and Mac computers to organize PDFs, Excel documents, Word Documents, PPT’s, etc. I am trying to build a file hierarchy that is user friendly (I am constantly thinking about Jed, who only goes into our shared drive to pull tree permit PDFs - “how will Jed know where to look?”). Someone told me once, “don’t worry too much about where things are saved, just make sure the file names make sense for searches.” I really want to believe this, but I am still a strong believer in proper file hierarchy. Another manager told me, “Just share links, don’t worry.” Anyway, I would love your ideas, comments, discussion.

I love you all!

2 Likes

You need a document management tool. The physical location of the files should be mostly meaningless. They should be tagged with metadata that makes them easy to search for and find. https://www.capterra.com/document-management-software/

3 Likes

For a one computer set up, this is pretty straight forward - yes, name the files and let Windows index the files. Simple enough to find using Windows Search after that. Add in multiple computers and multiple drives, then it gets a bit more complicated. Use a document management system on the network.