DLAN and VPN connection Drops

Hello all,

I work in IT and have a customer who has problems with the VPN.

He has a notebook Lenovo L580 with Windows 10 and uses L2TP over IPsec. He bought Devolo DLAN so he has LAN over the wall socket.

He complains that his VPN connection drops at irregular intervals.

My question, can DLAN basically cause VPN connection problems like this?

He doesn’t believe me. He has no other internet problems and the power lines are new. He said that.

I have 400 users also using the same laptop and VPN and so far I have had no complaints.

Best regards

First question is who is dropping the link? Is it from the VPN side or the client PC side. If it’s the VPN side then there may be VPN logs to check. Maybe the client also keeps logs (or can be requested to do so.)

Yes.

Powerline adapters are notorious for causing problems with VPN. I have 1000’s of VPN users and the first question asked if they are having VPN problems is are you using a WiFi extender or a powerline adapter.

If the answer is ‘yes’ then 95% of the time using a cable into the router solves their VPN problems.

1 Like

The disconnections are client-side.
If you use the Windows integrated VPN solution (L2TP over IPsec) where do you find the log files in the event log?

What are the technical reasons why VPN connections have problems with DLAN or Power LAN? My argument has always been that if there are several intermediate stations between the router and the client, this is not optimal for a VPN tunnel. A VPN tunnel needs a direct connection if possible. So that it runs reliably.

As described above, my customer refuses and does not believe me. A really hard case.

Would it be possible to have them try 24 hours of a replacement (a very long Ethernet cable maybe)? If they replace the Ethernet over powerline and the problem immediately goes away then that would be the proof you would need, no?

1 Like