TWIG 561: Lions vs. Gazelles

Beep boop - this is a robot. A new show has been posted to TWiT…

What are your thoughts about today’s show? We’d love to hear from you!

I have the Sense energy monitor that Stacy was talking about. It does have a learning curve and will slowly discover devices the longer it is on. I most recently added the solar energy monitor to it. Stacy will love the IFTTT integration.!

Screenshot_20200528-173140|236x500

1 Like

Thanks to @gigastacey for saying/confirming what I’ve been saying for nearly 2 decades. Predatory capitalism, or the stock markets in general have been bad for business for a long time.

They don’t care whether a business succeeds in the long term, they come in, rape the company for any profit they can get out of it in the next quarter and dump and run, before the whole pyramid collapses.

It is like this constant looking for growth in businesses. Businesses reach a certain size, then they stall, they have reached peak-product, the market is saturated and it is no longer “new and wonderful” that will drive people to buy a new, improved one, it has reached maturity and sales will level off and carry on a that level for decades to come.

White goods are a good example of this. The PC market has moved into this category, there are incremental improvements, but nothing to force existing customers to upgrade. So the products last longer. The smartphone industry has also reached this level, but is saved by the lack of security updates.

If you look back a hundred or 2 hundred years, people bought a good quality product and kept it for their lifetime and the quality was good enough that they held for several lifetimes. Even in the mid to late 20th Century, outside of IT and consumer electronics, quality was king.