Is it worth upgrading to a Pixel 4?

I currently have a Pixel 2 XL, is it worth upgrading to a Pixel 4 or 4 XL? I have heard some say that it is not enough of an upgrade for Pixel 3 owners.

Thoughts?

2 Likes

Depends on what you use your current phone for and how happy you are with it.

2 Likes

I work in IT, I would say I am moderate to heavy user, I am an avid photographer that because of work and young kids has little time to pull out his DSLR. I like to have as good a camera in my pocket as I can. I have never been much of a Samsung or Apple fan. Which is why I have had a Google device since the 6p.

For me personally, Pixel ownership is all about getting the Android app and security updates and not having to wait for them. I have a Pixel2XL and I am not upgrading. I don’t see a real benefit for my use. The camera is better sure, even though the 2XL camera is really good, but I don’t really take pictures. I don’t care about face unlock and like the fingerprint sensor. The radar thing seems gimmicky for now but has promise in the future. Plus, the Pixel2 line gets those Android updates for another solid year minimum. As long as I can stay current with Android, no reason for me to upgrade. I use my phone mostly for work and a few games here and there. Next year I will grab a Pixel 5, or a 4 on mark down if the 5 is not that much different.

1 Like

For sure, the updates are hugely important, as I mentioned I work in IT. I have had my devices running the last two Betas. But I do take a lot of pictures, on my 2 XL of the 128 gbs I have taken 64 gigs of photos and videos.

1 Like

If you are into photos then the 4 is the way to go for sure. It sucks though they no longer offer unlimited photos storage in the cloud.

3 Likes

Damn, that is a lot…

2 Likes