High end Mac Mini in June?

Any thoughts or speculation whether or note we will see a more pro-like version of Mac Mini announced at the June keynote? Maybe with more RAM and support for two 5k monitors?

I don’t think so; it would cannibalize higher end MacBook Pro and iMac sales. I think Apple sees the Mini as a solution for entry level consumers or for pros that need to deploy a bunch of them in some kind of server or rackable role.

2 Likes

As long as a market remains for the current hardware (the M1) there probably isn’t a rush to supersede it. The Mini isn’t a big profit center for Apple (because of its lower price), and it’s targeted at switchers more than power users, so expect them to indefinitely restrict its RAM and other capabilities to a workable minimum.

1 Like

Thanks. I could definitely be happy with the 16 gigabyte RAM configuration, but I really want to drive two 5k monitors. I’ve been using a 5k iMac (late 2014) for seven years. Most of my work is productivity based kind of stuff, so crisp resolution for text, spreadsheets, etc feels essential to me. I could do two of the LG 4k ultrafine monitors, but I would be disappointed in any real noticeable difference versus my 5k iMac now. Any thoughts how much of a difference to the eye there would be comparing 4k to 5k side by side?

Makes you wonder what a M1 Mac Pro would look like.

I’ll agree with “no mac mini pro,” but not for the reasons posted thus far. I believe another dark gray mini could be offered, but June is too soon.

The most likely “pro” Macs are of course the rumored (and confirmed by recent hack?) 16" and maybe 14" MacBooks. After that is the larger size iMac, which may or may not be called “pro.” Apple warned on it’s investor call that Mac supply would be constrained in the second half of 2021, so any available “M2” processors will likely be in new Mac models, not upgrading models already sporting M1.