Ghislaine Maxwell Cell phone wrapped in foil

From the Daily News. " Agents conducted a security sweep of the house, they also noticed a cell phone wrapped in tin foil on top of a desk, a seemingly misguided effort to evade detection, not by the press or public, which of course would have no ability to trace her phone or intercept her communications, but by law enforcement,”
Aside from the obvious reference to “Tin Foil” ( Tin has not been used in foil for ages) What is meant by “Misguided”? Apparently the foil did not work. I was under the impression it would. OK All you experts wade in here.

The field of radio signal transmission engineering is very complicated and I’m not an expert but this is how I understand it. Perhaps others, especially engineers who are also HAM’s, can give a better explanation.

A simple wrapping of tin foil over a radio antenna does not block the signal very well. It distorts the signal but usually not enough to stop all of the transmission/reception with a modern high frequency, high interference tolerating, radio system.

To block the signal of a cell phone well enough to prevent it from connecting to a tower you need to use a good properly grounded Faraday cage. That is not easy to do for most people, even the tiniest slot openings in the cage will allow the signals through and making an adequate ground connection is also difficult.

The best way to prevent the tracking of your cell phone is to turn it off.

3 Likes