Best coffee at home?

Here’s a topic with room for lots of opinions.

What’s the best way to make coffee at home. In particular, espresso and cappuccino styles of coffee. I know some people swear by various things as the best, and of course there is a lot of room for personal tastes. Also, of course, you need to have a good quality coffee as a base.

I have a stovetop espresso pot but its screw on base is aluminum and I find it tastes off slightly, and I don’t find it produces much crema. I also have a AeroPress, but while it makes a nice “American coffee” it doesn’t make any real creama.

I have been considering the Philips 3200 LatteGo Series Fully Automatic Espresso Machine but then a friend just sent this to me https://9barista.com/product/9barista-espresso-machine/ and it looks pretty neat (although you’re on your own for milk frothing.)

I have zero experience with the 9 Barista but I found this review interesting:

Personally I am very happy with my Aeropress and a dispatch coffee subscription, I like a good espresso every now and then but getting espresso right at home is a hassle I don’t think us worth it.

1 Like

For normal coffee, we use a Philips filter coffee machine with Dalmayr Prodomo coffee.

For espresso we have a grinder and a DeLonghi Dedica Style EC 685 and we use beans from our local Rösterei - either Ferdinands’ or Barosta, both made fresh in Osnabrück.

Depends how far you really want to go, it’s a deep rabbit hole I’m trying to not spend too much money on :laughing:

For me, I’ve got a decent Breville grinder and machine. It is a fiddly process just to get a single coffee, but I enjoy that too.

No matter how you make your coffee though, I think fresh beans and quality water make all the difference.

1 Like

And the beans have to match the water type. That is something I lernt when I visited friends in Italy.