SN 948: What if a Bit Flipped?

Beep boop - this is a robot. A new show has been posted to TWiT…

What are your thoughts about today’s show? We’d love to hear from you!

1 Like

Steve’s statement about novice security learners feeling like they’re, “drinking from a firehose” was… well, I could identify. It does feel like a lot of information, but all of it very useful.

Also, the bit flip was fascinating and kind of unnerving, considering how an environmental or astronomical event could have a big impact on the frequency/potential of bit flips.

1 Like

Honestly I have been doing this for 30 years and I STILL feel like I’m drinking from a firehose. For example, just try to digest what’s happening with AI these days!

1 Like

BARNACLE BUSTED

They claim to have reconfigured it to be immune to the windshield heater as suggested here:

Clever folks will continue making this Whac-A-Mole

Speaking of AI, I am curious to learn more details about how you limit chat-GPT’s resource to some known library.

This is a recent new feature for paying subscribers, where you can start with a GPT that understands language inputs, and then directly train it how you like. It’s not something applicable to the GPT-4 (and soon GPT-5) product that is generally available on its own. You can think of this new thing in the same vein of making a pizza by starting with a pre-made pizza (crust, sauce, cheese) where you choose your own toppings to create an individualized pizza.

Feature for paying subscribers to what? “I’ll show it more tomorrow” ?

01:00:45 - Leo Laporte (Host)