SN 816: The Mystery of AS8003

Beep boop - this is a robot. A new show has been posted to TWiT…

What are your thoughts about today’s show? We’d love to hear from you!

1 Like

Hi @Leo and Steve,

In this latest episode, Steve did a great job of describing what happened, and the UMN researcher perspective from their explanation pdfs, and there was some discussion from Leo about what it actually means to be “submitted” and what a “commit” is when working with the Linux kernel.

I think I can help provide some background on how the Linux kernel’s development actually happens.

I have been a kernel developer for 11 years, and I maintain a small subsystem of the kernel on behalf of my company. Being a subsystem maintainer technically means that I have permissions to write to some Linux kernel repositories that eventually flow into live kernel releases, but the way that Linus and the other core maintainers have set things up prevent me and others like me (with limited domain expertise and maintainership scope) from modifying the kernel willy nilly without good justification for each change.

1 Like

One critical factor of this story that I think is missed in the broader tech coverage is exactly how the Linux kernel takes on proposed changes: It’s done entirely via email.

The same for code reviews. There is no slick web code review interface (like Github’s) for the kernel. It’s done with email responses with inline text.

See: Submitting patches: the essential guide to getting your code into the kernel — The Linux Kernel documentation
or: Submitting Your First Patch to the Linux Kernel and Responding to Feedback