HOP 143: Calling Out Annie Leibovitz

Beep boop - this is a robot. A new show has been posted to TWiT…

What are your thoughts about today’s show? We’d love to hear from you!

1 Like

I’ll preface this with an admission that I’m a lazy photographer (amateur). I don’t even rename most of my pictures. I totally agree with you, Ant, that a professional should take advantage of the post tools. I take pictures and try to highlight my main subject in how I compose the picture, available lighting (most of my stuff is landscape), framing of the subject (i.e. - mountain framed by trees/branches, etc.), and such. I “catch” HOP as I have TWIT.tv on as background when I’m at my desk, but photography as a hobby hasn’t demanded upping my game. All that said, I was very impressed with the before/after editing that Ray Mitchell did. Two things came of that portion of the show. His skills, brief as they may have been are very impressive, for one. Gmp as a tool that I might have to look into, is number two. Prior to this, cropping a photo is about the extent of my editing. Thanks to you, and Ray’s example, it looks like it might be time to up my game :slight_smile: I am subscribed to HOP, BTW

3 Likes

Ray’s processing is a lot better, but I’d have done selective (area) exposure adjustments, Lincoln now looks overexposed and still drags the eye away from the supposed subject. In fact, I’d probably have pushed up the exposure on her and dropped the exposure on Lincoln.

It is the same with the portrait photo, the eye is automatically drawn to the sky in the background.

For such a professional photographer and team, I think the results are very disappointing. If I had been at Vogue, I wouldn’t have accepted those images, how the got through quality control is a mystery.

2 Likes