Headphone/Mic combo for teaching middle school e-learning classes on an MacBook Air

Hello-
I am teaching many of my middle school classes via TEAMS on a MacBook Air and would like to purchase a headphone/mic setup for these classes. As it is know I am using the internal mic and that is just not cutting it. Any suggestions. Remember I am a teacher and need to keep the cost down. Something mid-range.
Thanks

I really enjoy the Blue Yeti as a mic, and I plug a pair of analog headphones into the bottom of it. This way you don’t need a boom mic in your face (in your way.) The Yeti makes the mic and headphones appear as devices on the PC (I use Windows, but I imagine it would be identical on the Mac.) The quality of the Yeti is very good and it can pick up your voice with the mic far enough away from you to be out of frame. Cost wise, you’re looking at around $100 for the Yeti depending on sales, and as much or as little for the analog headphones as you feel (depending on comfort and style… and maybe free if you already have an pair around.)

I couldn’t find a good link on Amazon… but here’s a BestBuy link. (Note they come in an array of colours, so find one you like if you decide to get one.)

2 Likes

I commend you for trying to make your audio better. Going on 6 months into COVID19, I’m pretty disappointed with colleagues and people (professionally) broadcasting events who sound awful. So, I’m already a fan. As a reference point, I’m just an audio amateur, though I’ve done some professional work with a frequent guest of Leo’s.

There are main elements I’d consider to improve your online audio:

• Your audio equipment
  • Your “studio” environment
  • ISP upload speed

You can do three things in the hardware department, generally in order of quality (of your speaking):

• Dedicated mic-only
  • Headphone with mic
  • Webcam with mic (that’s better than the built-in hardware)