Greetings from David of The Laptop Elf Project

I’m a long time The Tech Guy podcast listener; still remember Leo from “Call for Help” on local broadcast TV here in LA. My first personal computer was an Osborne 1 grey case.

There are four of us in my area that offer free in-home tech help to seniors. A very popular service as you can imagine.

I ask via social media for donations of working but unwanted laptops, Windows and Mac. I wipe the drive and reinstall the OS. Then I donate the laptops to teachers and, through local non-profits, to low income families.

Win7 and newer Windows laptops I upgrade to Windows 10. Very straightforward. WinVista and WinXP get Linux installed. MacBooks that came with OSX Lion or later I can reload the OS, up to El Capitan if the laptop is new enough.

The older white plastic MacBooks are a challenge. I’ll be looking on the forum for ideas and answers about how to load them with Linux.

Anyway, that’s what keeps me busy most days. Glad to be in the TWiT.community

12 Likes

That’s some great work you do. It’s a struggle for the elderly to buy and maintain a computer but arguably they have the most amount of time to spend on them so can get a lot out of them. It must take up a lot of your time, I know how much effort I need to put in maintaining PCs for only two parents.

5 Likes

Welcome, love the work that your doing, thank you!

3 Likes

Welcome to the boards and thank you for the work you do with seniors and teachers. It is a great thing you are doing.

3 Likes

Howdy, and welcome from Texas!

2 Likes

I heard you when you called in to The Tech Guy! I want to thank you so much for the generous services you provide. What a great recycling project and so needed for low income folks. I bet the schools really appreciate it too. So, THANK YOU!

2 Likes