5G Phone Tech Question

I’m not sure what you call whatever receives the 5G signal in a phone, but I am wondering, is it some kind of hardware that will improve over time? Or is it just is what it is? In other words, will phones a year or more down the road have improved 5G receivers in them?

If you “future proof” by getting a 5G capable phone now, will the in-phone technology be better if you waited a year or two?

All technologies improve as time goes on, right now though 5G is very limited on availability so the only thing you are doing buying 1 now is preparing for when it is available more widely but most likely not available at least in its full capacity where you are. In my opinion its a waste to buy it now unless you just want to be prepared for it. But it will most definitely improve as time goes on the technology in the phones and in the towers.

All of this is just my opinion, I’m not an expert in 5G technology.

1 Like

Well there are a number of components in the pipeline of processing the radio signals for the phone. First up is the antenna, and I don’t think that technology has much innovation left. It needs to be able to escape the phone, so has to be routed somewhere away from signal blocking metal portions of the phone. (Thus the reason why glass backs are common.)

The next part is the signal processor and/or baseband processor. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baseband_processor The baseband processor is what is currently under development, and probably the single most expensive part of adding the 5G capability. Like anything, it will improve over time and get cost reduced. For whatever reason, there are a lot of patents in the radio signalling world. Acquiring a baseband processor presumably also includes all the patented technologies, adding to the cost. Eventually patents expire, but by then, they hope to move you on to the next protocol… 6G anyone?

I thought the glass backs became common for wireless charging? Hmm